Telltale is Developing a Game of Thrones Game – IGN

So it looks like Telltale Games could be working on a Game of Thrones game. According to IGN they have multiple reliable sources saying that Telltale Games is in fact developing a game based on George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones.  Although when IGN reached out to Telltale Games Steve Allison, SVP of Publishing, responded with saying:

   We get these sorts of rumors about what we could be working on next cropping up all the time.  Officially we have no comment.

Even though its not a for sure thing yet I still think a Telltale Game of Thrones game could work quite well, if done correctly that is.  Telltale Games did a fantastic job with The Walking Dead game.  So hopefully they’ll be able to do an equally exceptional job with Game of Thrones, digging into the vast world of Westeros and Essos.

Although I have been hoping for an open world RPG game for Game of Thrones for quite some time now.  A game, done well, by Telltale Games will be good enough to hold me over till some game developer gets smart enough to pick up the title and makes the open world RPG we’ve all been waiting for.

7 thoughts on “Telltale is Developing a Game of Thrones Game – IGN

    • I think so too. Telltale Games really surprised me with how good The Walking Dead game was, and I really believe they could do a good job with Game of Thrones.
      ASOIAF has the ability to be the best game ever, if done correctly. I think an open world RPG game would be awesome. Having the choice of being born to a royal house, or a simple peasant. And if you get caught for a crime you either pay the penalty or get sent to the wall.

      • Indeed, tonnes of options. I have not played the WD game, but only because I don’t really have the time. But I did love all the videos I have seen with all the different chapters.

        You could play royal house, a bannerman, a wildling, a faceless man, a commoner with aspirations, and being sent to the wall, as you mentioned, could just end up being a whole new story, oh… the wonders!

        I’d much rather a telltale sort of game to an mmporg game because I played WoW for way too many years, and with all the raiding and schedules, it just started to feel like a second job (I miss the pvp though hehe).

      • The Walking Dead was great, I still haven’t finished it – mainly because of time restraints, and I just seem to never play through games – but I want to go back some day, when I have more time, and finish it.
        The possibilities are almost endless when it comes to AGOT/ASOIAF game. All I want to do is be a hedge knight, just like Dunk..well maybe not quite like Dunk

  1. Pingback: Telltale’s Game of Thrones Coming This Year | The Game of Thrones Guide

Leave a Reply

